Ireland Recap: Day 1

Exactly a year ago, I had the privilege of visiting Ireland with family for two weeks. Ireland is somewhere that I’ve always wanted to visit, but to be honest it wasn’t that high on my list. I wanted to go, but there were so many other places that I wanted to go first. But, we had the opportunity to go, so of course we took it! I ended up falling in love with the country and would love to go back some day. At the time I really wanted to blog about each day and share some of the pictures I took, but since I didn’t have a blog at the time, it never happened. So, I decided to blog about it one year later as a way of reliving the trip and finally sharing some of the photos.

Our first day in Ireland felt like a stereotypical tourist in Ireland day. We went to a castle, went to the Cliffs of Moher, and ate dinner at a pub. Probably some of the first things you think of when you think of visiting Ireland.

Our first stop of the day was Bunratty Castle. It doesn’t look super impressive from the outside, but it was actually really cool exploring the interior and imagining kings and queens going about their business. Somehow this is literally the only picture I took of the castle itself! Haha.

IrelandDay1-7407

 Surrounding the castle there was a “folk park” where there were different buildings and things that were characteristic of 19th century Ireland. They also had a farm and a garden, which is where I took most of my pictures.

IrelandDay1-7476IrelandDay1-7436IrelandDay1-7405IrelandDay1-7457IrelandDay1-7497IrelandDay1-7491

Our next stop was the Cliffs of Moher. To be honest, they were a little bit underwhelming. Don’t get me wrong, they were definitely awe-inspiring due to their sheer height, but they were exactly what I was expecting. I’d seen so many pictures of them prior to our trip and they ended up looking exactly how they do in pictures. I felt exactly how I expected to feel.

IrelandDay1--2IrelandDay1--5IrelandDay1-7515IrelandDay1-7534

To me, this is one of the photos that I took that shows their massive size the best. This isn’t even the whole cliff face, but compare it to the people at the top!

IrelandDay1-7613.jpg

Along the tops of the cliffs there were fields with cows grazing. It made me wonder if the cows knew that just a few feet away from their fence there was a straight nearly 400 foot drop to the ocean.

IrelandDay1-7599-2.jpg

One of the things that blew my mind about Ireland was the hills. It’s pretty flat where I’m from, and there are tons of trees to interrupt the view of the sky, so I’ve never stood at the base of a hill, staring up a slope with nothing but sky behind it. It made the sky and clouds seem so much more expansive.

IrelandDay1-7594.jpg

After exploring the tops of the cliffs we headed to the nearby coastal town of Lahinch to enjoy a nice pub dinner and sunset.IrelandDay1-7631IrelandDay1-7654

Leave a Reply

